2010/11 Turnbull Trophy

Dominique Redmond reports:

This event had a fantastic turnout with 33 pairs (one of our highest ever entries) from ten different schools: Aldenham, Berkhamsted, Emanuel, Charterhouse, St Olave's, Mill Hill, Ipswich, KES, Lancing College and Wolverhampton. All the pairs were split into 8 pools of 4/5 pairs where each pool match was 20 minutes long and every one was against the clock.

Once all the pools matches had finshed all pairs were then filtered into pools according to where they had finished in the first pool stages. All pairs that had come 1st in their group where split into 2 pools with all the other pairs that had come 1st. The top pair from each of the two mini pools would then play a Final for a chance to win the prestigious Turnbull Trophy. The process was also repeated with those who finished in each of 2nd, 3rd and fourth places - effectively plate events. With one-game 20 minute matches, all the matches were played with a real sense of urgency and the need for consistently good play from the outset. There where some extremely close matches with St Olave's 1 (Seb Cooley and Chris Self) eventually prevailing from one pool and Berkhamsted 1 (Anthony Theodossi & Steve Wiggle) from the other. The Final will be played at a later date.